CFP (Conf): Aesthetic Autonomy


Conference – Aesthetic Autonomy & Heteronomy

This conference is being supported by the Humanities Research Centre, University of York, the British Society of Aesthetics, and Analysis Trust.

Conference Date – Wednesday February 2nd 2011

Conference Venue Berrick Saul Building, University of York.

Overview: This one-day conference is intended to examine and clarify the relationship between artworks and extra-aesthetic developments (be they socio-historic, cultural or economic). The view, arguably influenced by a misapprehension of Kant’s philosophy, that art can be seen as wholly autonomous (free of extra-aesthetic function, and explicable purely in terms of aesthetic categories) has repeatedly been challenged in the modern history of aesthetics.

Understanding the relationship between art and the extra-aesthetic pertains not only to philosophy of art, but also has implications for a number of other areas of inquiry, such as social philosophy, art history and the study and practice of the arts themselves. The speakers at the conference will therefore examine these questions from a variety of disciplinary backgrounds. Each paper will be followed by a 20 – 30 minute discussion.

Confirmed speakers

    Professor Peter Lamarque (Philosophy, University of York)
    Professor Max Paddison (Music, Durham University)
    Dr Andy Hamilton (Philosophy, Durham University)
    Dr Jason Gaiger (Art History, Oxford University)
    Dr Gordon Finlayson (Philosophy, University of Sussex)

Registration: There will be an attendance fee of £20.00. Registration in advance is required. Please contact the organizer at for advance registration, payment details, or any further enquiries. Payment will be collected in the form of a cheque made out to ‘The University of York’. A limited number of graduate bursaries are available. Please contact the conference organizer at

Graduate papers are invited for this conference. Graduate papers will be allotted 20 minutes, with a further 20 minutes for discussion of the paper. If you would like to participate, please submit a 500 word abstract to
Deadline for submission – December 20th 2010. Confirmation of acceptance will be sent out by January 2nd.


09.30 – 09.40 – Brief welcome
09.40 – 10.40 – Professor Peter Lamarque
10.40 – 11.20 – Graduate speaker (TBA)
11.20 – 11.50 – Tea Break
11.50 – 12.50 – Dr Jason Gaiger
12.50 – 13.50 – Lunch
13.50 – 14.50 – Professor Max Paddison
14.50 – 15.30 – Graduate Speaker (TBA)
15.30 – 16.00 – Tea Break
16.00 – 17.00 – Dr Andy Hamilton
17.00 – 18.00 – Dr Gordon Finlayson
18.00 onwards – Wine Reception

Event Website

By admin

Sign up for periodic announcements via our Newsletter!