CFP (conf): The British Society of Aesthetics 2013 Annual Conference



The British Society of Aesthetics 2013 Annual Conference
20-22 September 2013, Homerton College, Cambridge

Confirmed keynote speakers:
Carolyn Korsmeyer (University at Buffalo, SUNY)
Peter Railton (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)

Deadline for submissions: 1 April 2013

Papers are invited in all areas of philosophical aesthetics. All submissions should include a 200-word abstract and must be prepared for blind review. There are two categories of submission:

1. Regular submissions may not exceed 3500 words excluding abstract (around 30 minutes’ reading time). Students may not submit in this category.

2. Student submissions by students enrolled in MA or doctoral degree programmes are to be marked as such at the time of submission and may not exceed 2500 words excluding abstract (around 25 minutes’ reading time). Students whose papers are accepted will receive a stipend to defray conference fees and accommodation costs. The winner of the prize for the best paper by a student will also receive £100 and a grant for travel to the conference.

Abstracts without full papers, papers that are not prepared for blind review and papers that exceed the maximum length will not be considered.

This year we also invite proposals for symposia in all areas of philosophical aesthetics. Proposals may be for panels on particular themes, author-meets-critics sessions, sessions focused on aesthetics teaching or other special sessions. Proposals for symposia should include a general description of the topic or theme, along with the names and affiliations of all proposed participants and brief abstracts of all papers. Symposia will last two hours, including discussion time, and should normally have three participants (at most four). Students may not submit proposals for symposia, though symposia may include students as participants, in which case their status should be specified.

You may either submit a paper or be a member of a proposed panel, but not both.

Submissions should be sent by email attachment in Word format to:

with the author’s name, affiliation, status (student or not) and contact details in the body of the email. Please also direct any questions to this address.

Programme Committee: Dan Cavedon-Taylor (St Andrews), Stacie Friend (Heythrop College, London), Bence Nanay (Antwerp/Cambridge), Murray Smith (Kent), Dawn Wilson (Hull), Mahlet Zimeta (Roehampton).

British Society of Aesthetics

By admin

Sign up for periodic announcements via our Newsletter!