CFP (conf): British Society of Aesthetics Annual Conference



The British Society of Aesthetics Annual Conference 19-21 September 2014, St Anne’s College, Oxford

Confirmed keynote speakers:
Jenefer Robinson (University at Cincinnatti), M. G. F. Martin (University College London and University of California, Berkeley), Peter Greenaway (Empson Lecturer)

Deadline for submissions: 15 February 2013

Proposals for symposia are invited in all areas of philosophical aesthetics. Proposals may be for panels on particular themes, author-meets-critics sessions or other special sessions. Proposals for symposia should include a general description of the topic or theme, along with the names and affiliations of all proposed participants and brief abstracts of all papers.
Symposia will last two hours, including discussion time, and should normally have three participants (at most four). Students may not submit proposals for symposia, though symposia may include students as participants, in which case their status should be specified.

Papers are invited in all areas of philosophical aesthetics. All submissions should include a 200-word abstract and must be prepared for blind review.


There are two categories of submission:

1. Regular submissions may not exceed 3500 words excluding abstract. Students may not submit in this category.

2. Student submissions by students enrolled in MA or doctoral degree programmes are to be marked as such at the time of submission and may not exceed 2500 words excluding abstract. Students whose papers are accepted will receive a stipend to defray conference fees, accommodation and travel costs. The winner of the prize for the best paper by a student will also receive a cash prize.

Abstracts without full papers, papers that are not prepared for blind review and papers that exceed the maximum length will not be considered.

You may either submit a paper or be a member of a proposed panel, but not both.

Submissions should be sent by email attachment in Word format to:

with the author’s name, affiliation, status (student or not) and contact details in the body of the email. Please also direct any questions to this address.

Programme Committee: Bence Nanay, Chair (Antwerp/Cambridge), Murray Smith (Kent), Dawn Wilson (Hull), David Davies (McGill), Áine Mahon (University College Dublin)

By admin

Sign up for periodic announcements via our Newsletter!