CFP (conf): RMA Research Students’ Conference


RMA Research Students’ Conference, 5-7 January 2012

University of Hull (UK)


The RMA Annual Research Students’ Conference will take place at the University of Hull (Middleton Hall) from 5-7 January 2012. It will include the Jerome Roche Prize Lecture by David Irving (University of Cambridge) and the Peter Le Huray Lecture by Professor Martin Cloonan (University of Glasgow).

The event will feature advisory workshops in the following areas: publishing (Editor, JRMA, Professor Rachel Cowgill, University of Cardiff), postgraduate training (Director, IMR, Dr Paul Archbold), RMA activities (RMA Membership and Development Officer, Helen Thomas) and funding. Roundtable discussion about directions in music research will be led by Professor Christopher Wilson (University of Hull). Delegates will be given the opportunity to sign up for individual C.V. sessions with established scholars from the University of Hull and RMA Council.

Proposals are invited in the following categories (details of durations for presentations and compositions are given below):

1) Individual papers on any aspect of music research, including presentations with a live performance element (up to 20 minutes, followed by 10 minutes of discussion);

2) Research statements for new postgraduate students to provide an outline of their research topic and preliminary endeavour (up to 10 minutes, followed by 5 minutes of discussion);

3) Compositions (acoustic or electronic) in the following combinations: voice (high soprano), piano and/or clarinet (doubling bass clarinet); voice (high soprano) plus live electronics; fixed media (an 8-channel sound diffusion system and range of microphones will be available along with a computer running Pro Tools, Reaper, Ableton Live and Max/MSP). For vocal works, composers may respond to lines of poetry or full poems by Philip Larkin in honour of the poet’s connection with Hull (works up to 10 minutes, followed by 20 minutes of discussion).

The deadline for submission of abstracts (maximum 200 words) or composition scores is Friday 14 October 2011. All abstracts for papers should fully and clearly describe the topic of the presentation and should include the following information: background, research
questions, aims, summary of content and significance. For papers incorporating live performance, proposers are expected to provide instrumentalists and repertoire. Composition scores will be accepted in all formats (e.g. graphic, text-based) [note: please ensure that text permissions are obtained if appropriate]. In all cases, a cover sheet should be supplied with the following information: name, postal and email address, institutional affiliation of proposer; type of submission (i.e. individual paper, research statement, composition); AV requirements; and any other special requests for space/equipment.

Please email abstracts and any other queries to the Conference Director, Dr Elaine King ( <> ). The conference programme will be released by the beginning of November 2011 and registration forms will be made available at the same time.

Conference Committee: Dr Elaine King (Chair), Professor Christopher Wilson (University of Hull), Dr Peter Elsdon (University of Hull), Dr Alexandra Wilson (Oxford Brookes University), John McGrath (RMA Student Representative, University of Liverpool), Kate Guthrie (RMA Student Representative, King’s College, London).


Dr Elaine King (RMA RSC 2012 Conference Director)
Senior Lecturer in Music
Department of Drama and Music
University of Hull

Tel: +44 1482 465627

By admin

Sign up for periodic announcements via our Newsletter!